While I was gardening

The art of gardening and the science of life.

Susurrus

2 Comments

In the season of sun, early morning light splashes down to the garden floor from a canopy above, and each hour fills the air with a different shade of green.   I listen to the garden.  As the sun rises, the presence of quiet follows me as I walk.  It is nice to be accompanied by such an unobtrusive partner; an easy companion.

Morning opens to a larger view.  Edges blurred become crisp and solid, the obscured becomes real.  And sounds arise.   The still becomes motion, and I hear rustling of leaves.  A small movement of life on the garden floor becomes a bird looking for food.  I walk towards the bamboo as wind animates its stems and leaves, and they whisper.  The air warms and surrounds me.

I miss summer.

 

Author: dphare2014

Horticulturist, Lead Steward Carkeek Park Demonstration Gardens, Author

2 thoughts on “Susurrus

  1. Lovely! One almost wants to be sibilant as well. Tx, Walt

    On 1/7/15 9:23 AM, “While I was gardening . . .” wrote:

    > dphare2014 posted: “In the season of sun, early morning light splashes down to > the garden floor from a canopy above, and each hour fills the air with a > different shade of green.   I listen to the garden.  As the sun rises, the > presence of quiet follows me as I walk.  It is n” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

