While I was gardening

The art of gardening and the science of life.

A bit of Gold for a Gray Day

Leave a comment

Chamaecyparis_pisifera_Golden_Charm_0122_original Photo by Plumb Pixel Photography, Terri Johnson, Owner

PlumbPixelPhotography.com

A long, cold, soggy day spent working in the Carkeek Park Demonstration Gardens.  Clouds so low they seem to brush the top of my head.  Gray surrounds and fills the day, and all is damp.  I drag myself home; gray streets, gray trees, gray sky.  The need for light is so strong I imagine turning on every light in the house when I return home.  I force my eyes open wide – it doesn’t help.  Only gray gets in.

But when I pull into the parking spot in the front of my home garden and get out of the car, I look up and see a bright, shining spot of gold.  This little tree welcomes me home, welcomes gold on a gray day, welcomes all who see it.  It’s a beauty!

Chamaecyparis pisifera filifera, ‘Golden Charm’.

Author: dphare2014

Horticulturist, Lead Steward Carkeek Park Demonstration Gardens, Author

Leave a Reply

